2015 REFLECTIONS

For the past few days I have been reflecting on my 2015 and I’ve decided to share some of them with you. I was planning on writing this article tomorrow morning but it was bubbling in my belly and demanding to come out so without further ado, here are a few peeks into my 2015

2015 was my year of self love and self acceptance. This year, in the midst of undesirable situations like resigning from my work, uncertainty about the future, treasured relationships going tits up and other setbacks, I came to understand the value of self love and acceptance. In challenging times, you need all the love, compassion and understanding that you can give.

LOVE YOURSELF THE ROCK
Nuff said 😀

2015 was the year when I became a Take That fan. I hadn’t initially been aware of this seminal boy turned man band. All i knew about them was that the fabulous Robbie Williams used to be a part of the band but all that changed when one of their songs “Get ready for it” started playing at the end of the movie “Kingsman: The Secret Service” (Awesome movie. Give it a see). A Google search later I stumbled across the bands 2011 reunion album “Progress” (and their follow up EP Progressed) and I’ve been in love ever since. When it is time for me pass on, I certainly hope “When we were young” is playing in the background. (Oh and on a side note, I am still loving the awesome K-pop band “Big Bang”…sue me)

PROGRESS ALBUM COVER
The album cover pretty much depicts my now reaction whenever Take That is playing (including the nudity on a few occasions)

2015 was the year when a short conversation from an old sci-fi action movie became an integral part of my belief system. For those you who have watched the first installment of the movie “The Matrix”, you will likely remember this short conversation below. (Those of you that haven’t seen the movie can find the scene here.

Neo (the main protagonist) has an appointment with a particularly important person and he is waiting in a room full of kids. The kids are doing all sorts of stuff, levitating playing bricks and so on and amidst them there is a particular boy who is bending a spoon (seemingly with his mind). The boy notices Neo’s gaze and offers the spoon to him and when Neo takes it, the following conversation begins:

Spoon boy: Do not try and bend the spoon. That’s impossible. Instead… only try to realize the truth.
Neo: What truth?
Spoon boy: There is no spoon.
Neo: There is no spoon?
Spoon boy: Then you’ll see, that it is not the spoon that bends, it is only yourself.

I could write a lot on the truth I’ve gleaned from this scene but I’ll just say this: I have learned that in order to truly see change in anything, we need to look beyond the surface “What” and discover the hidden  “Why”. In the case of someone struggling with harmful habits and addictions, coming to realize what they are using that addiction to cope with is vital in experiencing sustainable freedom.

truth
Heck yeah!

2015 was the year I began Oil Pulling. I have a dentition where all my teeth are arranged like sardines in a tin and as a result of this, stale breath has been a perpetual thing (despite drinking lots of water AND brushing twice a day). Heck some days I’d wake up with mouth so toxic that anyone I’d greet “good morning” probably had a few years scratched off there and then. This stopped when I started practicing Oil pulling. Which is simply swishing one or two spoons of oil (olive or coconut oil) for 20 minutes every morning before brushing. You can read the many benefits of Oil pulling here.  After doing this for a few weeks I am happy to report that stale/toxic breath is a thing of the past, I no longer have annoying gum sores, my teeth feel a lot stronger and I cannot wait for my next dentist appointment.

Perve smile 3
My face when the dentist asks me what my secret is

2015 was the year I came to adore the statement “There is always a Walk Around”. This was a statement In an online article I read. In that article, the writer encouraged his readers to never see themselves as stuck on the way to their dreams but rather to think, consider their options and discover ways “walk arounds” to achieving what they desire. He made mention of  how he wanted to create a comic book and despite lacking the required drawing skills, was able to do so by collaborating with an artist (he supplied the concept and character bios and the artist brought it to life). This article was a major turning point for me  because until I read it, I had a bad habit of focusing only on what I didn’t have and ignoring what I did have.  Needless to say this mindset kept me stagnant but now I know better. So dear reader, I ask, what is it that you have? (Read more on this here)

what-do-you-have
Think about it

2015 was the year my body gave up Coke. By coke I mean Coca-Cola and not the white powderish alternative mind you.  This might not seem like much to you dear reader but Coke and I used to have a very very passionate relationship. For the past 5 years very rarely would a day go by without me opening up a bottle and indulging myself (all other soft drinks were one night stands). Heck when I was studying for my Masters in Business Administration at the Lagos Business School, before I made the long commute from my home to school, I would first swallow a plate of Eba and vegetable soup with Coke being the main dish (I’m not crazy my mother had me tested)  but all that changed a few weeks ago when after my dinner, I reached for my usual and after drinking it, I was hit by nausea and tummy upset. I thought nothing of it but when this repeated itself again, I came to the realization that my body had filed for a divorce from Coca Cola  and thus I grudgingly had to give her (yes “her”) up. I’ve tried to fill the hole with Chocolate drinks and other soda’s but it’s not the same. You know what’s worse? It’s Christmas season and my home is FULL of Coke. Now every time I open the fridge I be like:

THIRSTY SPONGE BOB
NOT THIRSTY………………………

Anyhoo

2015 was the year when I learnt to embrace the uncertainty of relationships. In 2015 I had four valued friendships come to an end. (I wrote about one of them here) These were friendships I envisioned would last for a long long long time and to see them suddenly go poof was deeply saddening but through it all I came to realize and embrace the uncertainty and enjoy the moment. Dear reader there is no guarantee that he/she will be their tomorrow. There is no guarantee that what you have will last forever so I counsel you to just enjoy the moment. Don’t let the uncertainty of tomorrow, keep you from enjoying today.

Friends

and finally

2015 was the year I started this blog. It’s been a great year writing and I’m so  grateful to you for reading my thoughts. Your likes, comments and follows have been deeply encouraging and I do hope that I have been able to encourage you and put a smile on your face. As you venture into 2016 I do wish you all the best and please know this: You are loved. You are whole. You are complete. You are a work of art and you a gift. You have a place. This world would NOT be the same without you in it. No matter how your year has been, you stay magnificent. You will make it through and you will shine.

you're awesome
You DO NOT argue with Bill Murray

So those are a few things that shaped my 2015 what are yours?

8 thoughts on “2015 REFLECTIONS

  1. my toughest year yet but I learnt the most lessons in one year. no regrets. great read from you. 2015 in the last paragraph ought to say 2016 or maybe am sleep deprived.

    Like

  2. Wow! I know you hear this all the time, bud, but you’re awesome. I’m blessed to have met you.
    2015 was a year I learnt more about myself, and some of which have rocked a number of things I once held on to. I’m more empathetic.

    Like

  3. 2015 have been tough all right and all thanks to you Dotun and few help from other friends I’m still going on so I’m grateful for having surrounded myself with people that care about my welfare and are also there to assist as well.
    But I’ll never forget this year for one thing, the fact that I challenged my body with intense physical activities. Though I’ve been inactive for 3 months now but 2015 was a great self-physical discovery and many more, and oh, lovely write-up

    Like

    1. Thanks so so much for reading Astia. I consider it a privilege to have been of aid to you this year and I do pray that 2016 is a much much better year for you :*

      Like

Leave a Reply

